miss-organic-final-logo

 

 After all that has been written and all that has been cooked and talked about on this blog and in Guide to Fish, it’s clear that shopping at markets is pivotal to this household; markets are the foundation of happy eating in our home. And most weeks I get to the market, every week (sometimes twice) I’m there writing recipes in my head as I scan the stalls for what’s looking good.

But last week I didn’t get to the market, last week with more deadlines than usual, a sick child and extra obligations at school and at the restaurant I didn’t get there. This is where Miss Organic saved the day. Miss Organic started just over a month ago, they are based in Melbourne and are only delivering here at the moment (it’s only a matter of time before it grows). It’s as simple as ordering what you want/need online, I chose the Energy Box – a mix of fruit and veg – all I had to do was fill in what we do or don’t like on the order. Thursday came around and so did a knock at the door. Nicci Gaffen, co-founder of Miss Organic with her partner Paul, puts everything together for you at the crack of dawn at the Footscray markets. There are other boxes and many combinations (personalise it as you wish) – the vitality box, strength box, veg out box, there’s alot of choice and guidance.  

I opened a simple cardboard box filled to the brim with silverbeet, celery, mushrooms, corn on the cob, tomatoes, apples, carrots, zucchini, spinach leaves, fresh tumeric, red onion, pumpkin, sweet potato, grapes … I’ve already steamed the silverbeet down with the tomatoes and finished the warm salad with goat’s cheese. Roasted the pumpkin, sweet potato and onion with garlic, rosemary and olive oil. Snacked on the celery; sliced the carrots into lunchboxes and am deciding how to use the tumeric (I’ll be getting back to you on that one).

missorganic-energy-box1

 

For $45 this is great value – considering door-to-door delivery and a website full of tips, recipes and support. The produce is hand-picked, Nicci started this business up in Sydney but moved it down to Melbourne when she decided to come down south. She has a great passion for healthy organic produce and a desire to see us all eating better food – to think about what we eat and why we eat it.

Take a look at www.missorganic.com.au

Sounds like FoodwithThought to me!

