ocean 1

 

 

 

 

World Ocean Day is June 8th

 

A day to celebrate 70% of the planet. 

 

Like many of these days we are asked to celebrate a thing, a moment, a person, a time, we often let it slip by without a thought.

 

 

 

 

So I put this to you,

 

 

 

Give the ocean 5 minutes of your time on June 8th and remember how it and the life in it has played a part in your life; however big, however small or if at all. 

 

I can think of:

 

– Sitting on my mum’s lap eating crisp flathead tails with crunchy chips, salty, slightly greasy on a blue day at the beach with a cool headwind. 

 

– Warming my hands against the paper that was wrapped around soggy battered fish with fat chips soaking with malt vinegar on a cold London day

 

– The first time I got dumped by a wave – ouch!

 

– My mum teaching me to bodysurf when I was five 

 

– The first time I bit into a sweet scallop

 

– Devouring a fleshy prawn sandwich on soft white bread with real mayonnaise, salt and pepper with my dad

 

 – The time it took (years in fact) while I struggled with the flavour and texture of the natural oyster until I acquired the acquired taste.

 

–  Snapping open a can of tuna and mix it with tomatoes, olives, chilli and parsley (or anything else in the pantry).

 

–  Grilled John Dory and roasted wild barramundi. 

 

–  Walking on the beach (and usually getting mad at myself for all the crazy things I’ve done in my life) but then somehow letting it all go and looking for a beer by the end of the walk; sea air will do that to a girl. 

 

– Avoiding shellfish on first dates, it’s appropriate to devour them in the privacy of your own home. 

 

– Whole roasted mullet doused in chilli, lime and coriander. 

 

– My feet sinking in the sand while the waves on the shore rush around my ankles. 

 

So many joyous things; it’s a respectful relationship between the ocean and the human – well, it should be and World Ocean Day is about nurturing that relationship. 

 

So on World Ocean Day I would like to imagine that we would stop to think of what we buy and cook that comes from the ocean, to remember that it is a finite resource and to give it the respect it truly deserves. 

 

 

June 8th 

World Ocean Day 

 

Have a look at 

www.gdrc.org/oceans/oceans-day.html

www.amcs.org.au

www.friendofthesea.org 

 

fence and waves

 

 

