When a film opens with the line,

“The way we eat has changed more in the last 50 years than in the previous 10 000”

You can’t help but sit up and listen.

Food Inc is coming to Australian cinemas on May 20th – I was fortunate to see it tonight.

It’s a factual path that endeavours to explain the absolute power very few hold over so many in the food chain.

People spoken to throughout the film range from the manager  of a meat-processing plant who said he was a mechanic who worked with science and technology, to a heart-broken mother who lost her two-year-old boy to E.coli poisoning, to the dynamic, articulate farmer Joel Salatin.

In the introduction, what struck me more than anything were these lines…

“This isn’t just about what we’re eating,

This is about what we’re allowed to say

and what we’re allowed to know.”

If I have nothing else in my life – I have what I perceive to be my freedom and I don’t want huge faceless companies to take that away.

This is a film worth seeing. The extreme anonymity of these multi-nationals who standardise flavour, texture, history and culture give even more kudos to the Farmers Market culture that is thriving – see you there!

Click here to see the intro

H

